Non-Christians and the Gospel of Christ

Posted: November 15, 2013 in 3.4 Unity in the Present Age
Tags: , , ,

As previously discussed the purpose of the Christian in any age is maintaining and growing the union of Christ. In the present age this notably includes adding to the union of Christ by evangelising those who are not united to Christ.

Now the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain to which Jesus had directed them. And when they saw him they worshiped him, but some doubted. And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them min the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”
(Matthew 28:16-20, ESV)

The requirements placed on Christian relationships (discussed above) only apply to those who are united in Christ by the Holy Spirit. So when it comes to dealing with non-Christians it must come from an understanding that they are not united to Christ and they are not subject to the same order and requirements that Christians are. They are still in Adam who broke unity (relationship) with God. Note: This does not mean that Christians shouldn’t express Christian views on public policy issues, as citizens and members of society.

I wrote to you in my letter not to associate with sexually immoral people— not at all meaning the sexually immoral of this world, or the greedy and swindlers, or idolaters, since then you would need to go out of the world. But now I am writing to you not to associate with anyone who bears the name of brother if he is guilty of sexual immorality or greed, or is an idolaters, reviler, drunkard, or swindler—not even to eat with such a one. For what have I to do with judging outsiders? Is it not those inside the church whom you are to judge? God judges those outside. “Purge the evil person from among you.”
(1 Corinthians 5:9-13, ESV)

Christians and non-Christians are not the same race (2 Corinthians 6:14). This is because Christians are united in Christ which is a spiritual union, where-as non-Christians are members of the bastardised union of Adam. This does not mean that Christians should look down on or persecute non-Christians because of this distinction. Rather it is because of their union with Christ that all Christians are called to actively take part in finishing Christ’s work on earth (making disciples of all nations). Therefore this union which separates the two groups demands that Christians love non-Christians and call them to be united to Christ.

Even those who are united to Christ will not truly know who all the people of God are until the final judgement. A judgement that will segregate the two races forever. Separating those who are united to God through Christ from those who are not. This is to show that this final judgement and segregation is God’s right alone.

“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, then he will sit on his glorious throne. Before him will be gathered all the nations, and he will separate people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. And he will place the sheep on his right, but the goats on the left. Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you wave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these dmy brothers,you did it to me.’

“Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, I was a stranger and you did not welcome me, naked and you did not clothe me, sick and in prison and you did not visit me.’ Then they also will answer, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not minister to you?’ Then he will answer them, saying, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to me.’ And these will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.”
(Matthew 25:31-46, ESV)

Therefore Christians should love non-Christians by explaining the good news about Christ and the renewed unity that mankind has with God.

Leave a Reply

